New Music Monday- Music from “Nashville”

As you may have heard, there’s a new TV series on ABC called “Nashville.” Because I am in love with Music City, I inevitably had to watch the premiere. I loved being able to point out the places I (somewhat) know and definitely love in my favorite city, but I was also intrigued by how good the music was. I didn’t expect for the music to sound all that genuine, but I was pleasantly surprised. It’s obvious that the actors spent time making their voices sound just right, and it really added an extra good finishing touch to the show.

Hayden Panetierre’s (as Juliette Barnes) voice fits well with the driven, up-tempo “Love Like Mine,” and Charles Esten (as Deacon Claybourne) also plays quite a convincing role as a legendary songwriter with his heartfelt performance “Back Home.” In the end, though, the one song that had me completely floored was Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen’s (as Gunnar Scott and Scarlett O’Connor) version of “If I Didn’t Know Better,” which was made famous by the Civil Wars. I most definitely do love the Civil Wars, but this version could definitely put up some competition to theirs! Whenever I first recognized the guitar part to the song as the show’s first episode was coming to a close, I didn’t expect much, but it was actually pretty incredible. Their voices are somewhat similar to those of John Paul White and Joy Williams (The Civil Wars), but they were just unique enough to make me fall in love with the song all over again. It’s definitely worth a listen, and I hope those two characters have many duets to come on the show!

Find the music from the first episode of Nashville here:

“Love Like Mine” by Hayden Panetierre
“Back Home” by Charles Esten
“If I Didn’t Know Better” by Sam Palladio and Clare Bowen

You can watch “Nashville” Wednesday nights at 10/9c on ABC.

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

Leave a Reply

