New Music Monday- Brad Paisley: Southern Comfort Zone

I saw Brad Paisley live in concert several weeks ago, but I’ve been so insanely busy that I never found the time to write a review for his incredible show. To make up for my lack of a review, I wanted to feature Brad’s rockin’ new song, “Southern Comfort Zone” this week!

I am a Southern girl through and through, and as soon as the song began, the voice-over tributes to all things Southern made me tear up with pride, especially Andy Griffith’s voice. I found the lyrics to be relatable to my transition to college– when I got here, I realized just how many different cultures are present in the world outside of my semi-rural Georgia bubble. I absolutely love that Brad chooses to convey complete respect and even awe– not ignorant hatred– for those who have been raised in a different culture than his own.

The musical sound of this song is certainly not typical of Brad Paisley’s signature feel, but nonetheless, I definitely don’t hate it. It has a driving, almost pop-rock beat to it, especially when the chorus kicks up with a prominent cymbal part. It does, however, have a swanky guitar interlude– I’m convinced that a Paisley song simply can’t be without one!

Just as he did in “This Is Country Music,” Brad Paisley has managed to honor a culture in “Southern Comfort Zone” that is very close to my heart, and I will always admire him as a songwriter for that ability.

If you haven’t listened to the song all the way through, I encourage you to watch the official lyric video and pay special attention to the lyrics as well as the extra voices lending some extra southern heart to this tune.

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

Leave a Reply

