Country and Gospel: A Unique Spiritual Connection

Country music has always had a unique connection to gospel music. Since today is Sunday, I think it’s a perfect time to enjoy some of the country music–both old and new– that’s rooted in Christian beliefs. I know there are countless country artists who have done wonderful renditions of gospel and Christian songs over the years, but here are just a few that I’ve enjoyed listening to lately.

Song: “Faith to Fall Back On”
Artist: Hunter Hayes
Album: Hunter Hayes
This is one of my favorites from Hunter’s debut album. The lyrics are a reminder that when things seem to be going wrong in life, if we have a little faith, God will get us through any situation and through our own mistakes.

Song: “I Saw God Today”
Artist: George Strait
Album: Troubadour
This song rings true with my own life– “I know He’s here but I don’t look near as often as I should… His fingerprints are everywhere.” It’s a reminder that God has left his mark everywhere– all over creation, in fact.

Song: “Life’s Railway to Heaven”
Artist: Patsy Cline
Album: Best of Patsy Cline
This is one of those songs that gets me with imagery. I love the lyrics that compare our lives to a train trip, and I of course love Patsy’s voice as it overflows with soul in this song.

Song: “When I Get Where I’m Going”
Artist: Brad Paisley (with Dolly Parton)
Album: Time Well Wasted
Both Brad and Dolly sing this with just the right amount of emotion, and that lets the song paint a beautiful mental image of what heaven will be like. I can’t think of a better combination of voices to sing such a heartfelt, beautiful song.

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

2 responses

Leave a Reply

