“Funny how a melody sounds like a memory…”

If you listen to country radio, you’ve heard Eric Church’s “Springsteen” all over the air this summer. Since the first time I heard it while driving through Athens in May, I’ve been enamored with the song both for its unique sound and thought provoking lyrics.

My favorite line is “Funny how a melody sounds like a memory,” and the entire song perfectly conveys just how powerful music can be in capturing experiences within our hearts. In my own life, just a short piece of a song can carry me to a different time, and when I stop and listen, that melody brings with it all the emotion of a memory. Sometimes I relive a sweet moment; other times it brings up things I’d rather forget. Either way, I’m pretty sure that line of “Springsteen” is talking about a sensation that happens in everyone’s life, not just mine.

I know I have songs that will probably never fail to evoke a memory from my heart. Don’t you think that speaks volumes for the power of music?

I want to know how music has helped you capture and relive memories– good and bad. Is there a song that will always make you smile to yourself? One that sends a pang through your heart? One that lets you experience a moment of pure joy as if it were still happening?

If you have a melody that “sounds like a memory,” leave a comment and share your story!

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

If you like this post, follow Talk Twangy to Me on Twitter here!

7 responses

  1. OHMYGOSH that is my favorite line of the song too and I love when that happens. Music usually makes me think a lot, and my favorite is when you’re on shuffle and the song that comes up LITERALLY describes what you’re feeling… happens a lot to me, haha. I’ll tell you my most recent one later, its kind of embarrassing :). Buuut, I’m loving your blog, and I love you more 🙂

  2. Well I have two. My mom and I love the song “Boogie Shoes” by K.C and the Sunshine Band. Any time I heart that song I automatically think of my mom and just the fun times we have had singing and dancing to it. My next song would be “Big Yellow Taxi” by Counting Crows! Seriously anytime I’m sad or nervous out of no where the song will start playing!! It’s crazy! It just makes me relax and I love it!! Love the blog 🙂

  3. “Muckalee Creek Water” by Luke Bryan. my favorite lines of this song are…

    “I’m free, and I’m me
    Being everything that I wanna be
    Nobody jacking with me,
    No sign of the city lights.
    Hell with the city lights!”

    This entire song reminds me of everytime me and my friends or fraternity brothers would just go on a drive late at night or gather on some random dirt road in statesboro and open someones truck bed and just sit and relax away from the hustle and bust of college life and everything in it. This entire song brings back countless of memories from my bid night, to my initiation night to just random nights where we took four hour study breaks until 4 in the morning. All the memories are just coming up now. If there is a song that reminds me of my freshmen year down to a “t”, it would be this song. Such a great post allie! i’ve now been replaying this song for the past hour!

  4. I also love this song! Ever since I got home, I was inspired by your country music love and have been listening to it in my car and my room getting ready. Some of my friends are annoyed, but I am hooked!

    Some of the songs that I really like (and they will probably be really popular because I’m still a newbie in country music) are “Drunk on You” by Luke Bryan, “Pontoon” by Little Big Town, and “Even When it Breaks Your Heart” by the Eli Young Band. However, the one I feel like is the most summery is “Cruise” by Florida Georgia Line. It makes me think of how hot summer is and how one of the best things to do is just listen to music in the car and drive away!

  5. The song that takes me back is “Only the Young” by Journey. Not that the lyrics struck a chord but just the timing of the song & an event. BEFORE I EVEN MET YOUR DADDY (emphasis placed) I dated a farm boy from Alabama, Eric Tew. His Dad was my pastor in Riverdale, and I got to know him through his family. He was not the traditional PK but he did have his wild side. We never got really serious because of the distance, and the thoughts of being a farm wife was the LAST thing I wanted. Anyhow, I went to visit him on the farm in AL, and when I left I remember that song coming on the radio and it was just one of those songs you wanted to play loud (and drive fast!). I think of Eric every time I hear it. He passed away several years ago from cancer and I often wonder how my life would be different if we had continued to date. God is good.

  6. I have a lot of songs like that.

    “Just Like Heaven” reminds me of my daddy, he always used to sing that song to me when I little right before bed. Right after I said my prayers and we did our handshake. Not sure exactly why he chose that song to sing, but neverthe less, it is still special to me.

    “I Hope You Dance” remind me of my mom. She told me the first time that I heard it that it was her song to me.

    “Mr. Mom” by Lonestar reminds me of my little bro Max. When he was not even six years old, he knew the words by heart and would always play it on repeat in the car. For some reason that boy could not get enough of that song.

    “Never Grow Up” by Taylor Swift reminds me of my baby sister Olivia. Well, she is not really a baby…she is nine. But she has a “Song Book” of about a dozen original songs she has written, she asked for a stage for Christmas, and hands out tickets to everyone in our family for her monthly shows. She definitely has a performer’s heart and dreams that only a child can inspire…. I don’t want her to ever grow up…hence the song.

Leave a Reply

