Music with a heritage.

I don’t consider myself to be a history kind of person. I’m not good remembering who did what on which day and in which year. I never have been.

But when it comes to country music, history makes me come alive. When I was in Nashville with some friends earlier this month, I can’t tell you how excited I was to be able to give them a not-so-brief history of the Grand Ole Opry when we stopped by the Opry House. Sometimes when I’m in the car with my family, I can supplement a classic country song on the radio with a relevant fact. I’ve even started recognizing record producers’ names when I look through old records.

I’ve done some reading this summer, and through that I’ve learned about the origins of country music as an industry. I can’t explain it, but I feel like knowledge of earlier country pioneers and trailblazers will give me a better understanding of the music I love hearing on the radio today. History lets me imagine life in another time, and the best part about country music history specifically is that it’s accompanied by melodies that can truly carry me to another time and place.

When I sat down and really thought about why I love country music, its rich history was definitely a significant reason. Country music lets me forge a connection with those who came before me because so many of the traditions and sounds of the genre are still alive and thriving even after several decades.

I don’t know of too many genres that can say the same, and I can’t wait until I can truly be a part of making some new musical history.

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

Leave a Reply

