Music City, baby!

It’s July 6th, 2012 and I’ve been counting down to this day for at least two months. I’m writing this post from Nashville, Tennessee, and for obvious reasons I’m quite excited. Being in the heart of Music City always revitalizes my passion for country music and sparks my mind to keep creatively exploring how I’ll get to where I want to be professionally and personally when I finish my college degree. For me, it’s literally the city of dreams. My dreams.

As a celebration of this trip, here are a few of my favorite country music videos that were filmed in downtown Music City!

Song: “Hello World”
Artist: Lady Antebellum
Album: Need You Now
“Hello World” was filmed very close to the intersection of 3rd Avenue and Deaderick Street, and you can see the War Memorial building in the background any time Dave is shown playing the piano. The video itself is incredibly powerful and is definitely my favorite Lady A video. If you watch one video in this post, make it this one.

Song: “Ours”
Artist: Taylor Swift
Album: Ours- Single
According to Taste of Country, the Nashville airport was shut down for this video! I guess if you’re as famous as Taylor Swift, you can’t risk thousands of passerby recognizing you in the time it takes you to shoot a music video in an airport. The entire video was shot around Nashville, but the airport is the most recognizable location that’s shown.

Song: “Take It Off”
Artist: Joe Nichols
Album: It’s All Good
I was able to figure out that part of this video was filmed on Third Avenue North downtown, but I can’t seem to figure out where the rest of it is shot. I’m not familiar with the building that’s in the background during the park scenes, so if you do know, leave a comment and help me learn my Nashville geography!

Song: “Temporary Home”
Artist: Carrie Underwood
Album: Play On
Like “Hello World,” this one is amazingly emotional. This video won “Inspirational Music Video of the Year” at the 16th Inspirational Country Music Awards in 2010, and for good reason. I cry every single time I watch this video, so if you watch it and the same happens to you, don’t say you weren’t warned.

Song: “Even If It Breaks Your Heart”
Artist: Eli Young Band
Album: Life at Best
This video was filmed at Gruhn Guitars (on the corner of 4th and Broadway) in downtown Nashville (source: Taste of Country). In the time since this song was released, it has more or less become my theme song. Chasing big dreams can bring proportionately big heartbreak, and I’m learning that I have to keep going after what’s in my heart even when I seem to hit roadblocks and letdowns along the way.

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

2 responses

  1. Hi!
    Great blog!
    Have you heard of the TV show starting in October entitled “Nashville”? I’m really looking forward too it, hoping they make a good show with country music in it.

Leave a Reply

