Show Review- Lady Antebellum’s Own the Night Tour

I saw the Own the Night tour twice:

1. Columbus Civic Center in Columbus, Georgia on March 3rd, 2012

2. Gwinnett Arena in Duluth, Georgia on June 22nd, 2012

Thompson Square was the first act to take the stage. I’ll admit that I don’t know much of their music other than the handful of songs that are played on the radio most often. Even so, I enjoyed their short set. Keifer and Shawna have this really entertaining energy that I would attribute to their real-life marriage. They didn’t use any crazy special effects, and quite honestly, they didn’t need them. Their performance of “Glass” during both shows was incredible. Their show almost had a pop feel to it, but lyrically, there’s no doubt they’re rooted in country music. The only complaint I have against their time was that it wasn’t long enough! I love Thompson Square’s style, and it would’ve been great to hear more than just the four or five songs they did.

March 3rd, 2012 at the Columbus Civic Center

June 22nd, 2012 at the Gwinnett Arena

Next up was Darius Rucker. I was really surprised by how long his set was. He sang several of his own songs (I didn’t realize how many hits he’d had until then!), and he also sang a Hootie and the Blowfish number. His visual effects were slightly corny, but not enough to take away from his music. He was dancing the whole time and you could tell he was pouring his all into making it a lively show. He succeeded. He had me dancing around the whole time and singing along to most everything. My favorite song that he did was probably “This,” mainly because that song rings true in my life right now! He was pretty laidback, but definitely not sloppy. I just got the impression that he wanted the audience to see him as a normal guy—he came out in jeans, a t-shirt, and a baseball cap. It’s nice to see artists who aren’t all into the glam factor—they just want to perform. And that he did, very well indeed. I won’t say what the song was, but his last number was a bit random for a country concert. It went on for a LONG time, and I was relieved when it was over. I will say that it was slightly out of context, but I’m sure some folks loved it. I wasn’t really one of them…

March 3rd, 2012 at the Columbus Civic Center

June 22nd, 2012 at the Gwinnett Arena

Lady Antebellum, as expected, was SWEET! I sat down for maybe two songs the entire time. They were all over the stage, and I danced until I was exhausted! Their lights and effects were more intense than their opening acts, obviously. They were really good about getting the audience involved just by singing, waving their cell phones, etc. They’ve got a great energy with the full band, but even when they stripped it down to an acoustic portion, they still sounded incredible. For me, the highlight of the entire show was their performance of “Hello World.” If you’ve ever seen the music video for that song, it’s really powerful, but their live performance gave me chills. I don’t want to say too much, but simply put, it was amazing. Their entire set was obviously very well thought out. This is a bit of a random thing to notice, but I thought the camera crew did a really great job throughout showing all of the members of the band equally—Charles, Hillary, and Dave, but also the rest of the instrumentalists. Lady A brought out the other two acts to end the show, and with that much talent on one stage, they certainly served up some great music together! Their encore was “Need You Now,” and that was a close second for my own favorite number of their show.

March 3rd, 2012 at the Columbus Civic Center

June 22nd, 2012 at the Gwinnett Arena

I definitely left the show as a happy fan. The June 22nd show was on my 19th birthday, and being the social media freak that I am, I tweeted at all three acts ALL WEEK prior in hopes they would sing to me. It didn’t happen, but quite honestly, I didn’t care because I loved the show anyway. It was definitely worth it to go to that concert, and I would certainly go and see all of them perform live again if the opportunity arises… actually, I already did!!! 🙂

Ellis and I rocked out the whole night. Heck yes!

Keep talkin’ twangy!

-Allie

Leave a Reply

